July 02, 2020

Western leaders laud Uhuru for appointing former Raila ally to Cabinet

President Uhuru Kenyatta has been praised and criticised in equal measure after he released the Cabinet list on Friday.

Western leaders on Saturday thanked President Uhuru for nominating former Budalangi MP Ababu Namwamba and former Raila Odinga ally as a Foreign Affairs Chief Administrative Secretary .

The leaders also asked Mr Namwamba to work closely with Busia Governor Sospeter Ojaamong’ regardless of their divergent political views.

Bunyala Central MCA Felix Omanyi, who is also the Busia Minority Leader, however, urged the President to consider appointing two or three more politicians from the region in various capacities.

“As much as we appreciate the appointment of our very own Namwamba, Rashid Echesa from Mumias, and Eugene Wamalwa, we need more since the Government is big,” said Mr Omanyi.

The Jubilee leaders also cautioned locals against politicising the matter asking them to instead appreciate the little offered to them as a county.

In a Friday evening address, Uhuru dropped seven cabinet secretaries and deployed them as ambassadors in the various embassies around the world.

Judi Wakhungu, who was in charge of Environment and Regional Development Authorities, has been nominated as Kenya’s Ambassador to France.

Cleopa Mailu, the former Health CS, is an Ambassador to the United Nations (UN), Geneva.

Jacob Kaimenyi, former Lands Cabinet Secretary, has been nominated to be Kenya’s envoy in The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), Paris, France.

Hassan Wario, who was in charge of the Sports docket, nominated as Kenya’s envoy to Austria.

The Head of State also dropped CS for mining Dan Kazungu and nominated him as Kenya’s High Commissioner to Tanzania.

Former CS, Ministry of East African Community, Phylis Kandie, was dropped and nominated Kenya’s Ambassador to Belgium, Luxemburg and European Union (EU).

Former CS Willy Bett, who was in charge of Agriculture, Livestock, and Fisheries has been nominated Kenya’s Ambassador to India.

Kiema Kilonzo, a former Member of Parliament (MP) was nominated Kenya’s High Commissioner to Uganda.

Lazaraus Amayo, the former High Commissioner of Kenya to the United Kingdom (UK) has been nominated as the High Commissioner of Kenya to the United Nations (UN) in New York.

The President also released the names of nominated cabinet secretaries and principal secretaries.

President Uhuru’s full cabinet list

Cabinet Secretaries
Margaret Kobia – Public Service

Fred Matiang’i – Interior

Charles Keter – Energy

John Munyes – Petroleum Mining

Eugene Wamalwa – Devolution

Racheal Omamo – Defence

Monica Juma – Foreign Affairs

Simon Chelugui – Water

Keriako Tobiko – Environment

Aden Mohammed – Industrialisation

James Macharia – Transport

Joseph Mucheru – ICT.

Sicily Kariuki – Health

Rashid Achesa – Sports.

Najib Balala – Tourism.

Amina Mohamed – Education.

Farida Karoney – Lands

Ukur Yatani – Labour

Peter Munya – East African Community

Raphael Tuju

Chief Administrative Secretaries

Ababu Namwamba – Foreign Affairs

Hussein Dadho

Chris Obure

Simon Kachapin

Ken Obura

Permanent secretaries

Nelson Marwa – Devolution

Michael Powon – Arid and Semi-arid Lands

Peter Kaberia – Sports

Josetta Makobe – Heritage

Belio Kisang – Learning and Basic Education

Lilian Omollo -Gender

Torome Saitoti – Defence

Related posts