February 17, 2020

Presidential Aspirant confronts IEBC chairman

There was drama on Monday (29/05/17) at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC) after presidential aspirant Nazlin Umar was involved in a heated argument with the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) chairman, Wafula Chebukati over her documents during the verification process.

The conflict ensued after Umar was told that her name was missing from the official voter register, and therefore could not be cleared to vie in the August General Election.

She accused IEBC of “maliciously” not listing her despite having confirmed her details in the ongoing National Voter Verification.

“I need the IEBC to explain to me why my name is missing from the list of registered voters. I have registered, I have my Voter’s Card and I even verified. My documents are not out of order, it is your records that show my name is missing from the register of voters, so I don’t see how we can continue if I cannot for myself,” a furious Umar protested.

But Mr Chebukati told her to go through the process before appearing before the commissioners for clearance.

“I think we are done here…get yourself checked. I don’t want you to address me. I just want you to give me your documents for verification so that I can get back to you. I want to assume you came to IEBC and made your presentation. If your name is missing, this is not the forum for this,” the IEBC Chair explained.

Also locked out of the August race are Justus Juma of the Justice and Freedom Party, and Independent candidates Erastus Nyamera and Truphena Ochwami who did not meet the necessary requirements.

The submission of papers by presidential aspirants was closed on Monday afternoon, with the electoral body having cleared eight candidates who will be on the ballot come August.

They include President Uhuru Kenyatta, ODM’s Raila Odinga, Cyrus Jirongo of the United Democratic Party, Independent candidates Joseph Nyagah, Michael Wainaina and Japheth Kavinga.

Others are Abduba Dida of the Alliance for Real Change and Ekuru Aukot of Third way Alliance.

Related posts