April 22, 2019

President Kenyatta nominates Kiringai to head CRA

President Uhuru Kenyatta has on Wednesday (1/02/17) nominated Jane W. Kiringai to chair the Commission for Revenue Allocation (CRA).

Parliament Deputy Speaker Joyce Laboso directed the House Finance and Trade Committee to carry out approval hearings and submit its report on her suitability for debate before the House by February 15.

“Given the critical role played by the CRA within the framework of issues of Division of Revenue, which are currently under consideration within the budget process, it is advisable that the concerned Committee expeditiously proceeds to notify the nominee and the public,” said Dr Laboso.

Ms Kiringai will be vetted by the committee, led by Ainamoi MP Benjamin Lang’at, seven days after the public is invited to submit reports on her suitability to chair the Commission.

The CRA Act allows the President the power to nominate the chairman and can only be appointed with the approval of the National Assembly.

According to the Business Daily, the approval of the nominee will give way for the swearing in of seven other new CRA members.

The nominees were approved for formal appointment at a special session on December 20.

They are: Edward Oyugi, Peter Njeru Gachuba, Kishaanto ole Suuji, Irene Koech Asienga, Fauza Abdikadir Dahir, Humphrey Wattanga, Treasury Principal Secretary Kamau Thugge and Peter Kiko Kimuyu.

The Members of Parliament also approved the nomination of community work specialist Fauza Abdikadir Dahir, Treasury Principal Secretary Dr Kamau Thugge and University of Nairobi’s Economist Prof Peter Kiko Kimuyu to sit in the CRA.

The new team will take over from outgoing chairman Micah Cheserem, vice-chair Fatuma Abdikadir and members Wafula Masai, Amina Ahmed, Joseph Kimura, Rose Osoro, Meshack Onyango and Raphael Munavu.

Ms Kiringai is a Senior Economist based at the World Bank Kenya Country Office.

She specialises economic analytical work in the areas of macroeconomic policy and economic growth, international trade, public finance and public expenditure management.

Related posts