October 23, 2018

FOYA AWARDS: Transforming the Lives of Young Kenyan Entrepreneurs

FOYA Awards (FOUNDER OF THE YEAR AWARDS) was introduced in November 2016 during the Founder Magazine’s annual Entrepreneurship Forum TEFO. It serves to motivate, recognizes and appreciates young founders developing our nation while creating jobs through entrepreneurship.

FOYA Awards was launched last year with four categories which attracted over 200 nominations and over 70,000 votes cast for the winners through the founder’s website. Winners were awarded trophies, cash prices and many other great packages.

FOYA Awards celebrates every young founder contributing to the growth of our nation through entrepreneurship. The mission of the FOYA awards is to recognize and award extraordinary young founders in Kenya in different categories (e.g. Agri-business, founder of the year, entertainment, fashion and beauty, ICT and Education, Real Estate, NGOs etc.) every year, thus encouraging young people to set up start-ups and thus creating job opportunities.

The sponsors of  FOYA Awards First Edition held last year were Tropikal Brands, Chandaria Industries, Vivo Active Wear, and Kriss Senanu.

Last year’s winner for the Founder of the Year Award was Mary Njoki, founder of Glass House PR. Njoki started her Public Relations company after dropping out of Daystar University with only 6,000ksh. Other winners were Silas Omenda, founder and CEO of Fashionkillers 254 who won the Award for Fashionpreneuer of the year, Faith Tanui and Washington Mageto who won Awards for Social Founder of the Year and Techpreneur of the Year respectively.

A FOYA Award is one of a kind because it focuses on awarding successful young entrepreneurs and not seasoned entrepreneurs. The award targets young founders who are running start-ups to serve as encouragement, support, and inspiration to start and create more businesses.

This promotes job creation and makes Kenya a self-sustaining nation instead of depending on foreign aids and donors.
This year’s FOYA Awards will be held on 27th May.

More than 300 people from various industries are expected to attend the award ceremony.

Related posts