August 17, 2018

Cabinet Secretaries Comply with Uhuru Directive, Step Down

DCF 1.0

By Etaarifa Contributor

A number of Cabinet Secretaries and other Government officials have complied with President Uhuru Kenyatta’s directive and stepped down from office pending investigations into allegations of corruption leveled against them. In a statement released by State House, the President has appointed acting Cabinet Secretaries to fill in the gap as the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission conducts its investigations.

The Cabinet Secretaries who have complied with the directive are;
• Mr. Felix Koskei, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Livestock Development. Mr. Adan Mohamed is to act in his place
• Eng.. Michael Kamau, Ministry of Infrastructure and Transport. Mr. James Macharia is to act in his place
• Mr. Davis Chirchir, Ministry of Energy and Petroleum. Mr. Henry Rotich is to act in his place
• Mr. Kazungu Kambi, Ministry of Labor. Ambassador Rachel Omamo is to act in his place


The following Senior Officers and Principal Secretaries have also stepped down from office;
• Mr. Francis Kimemia, Secretary to the Cabinet
• Mr. Mutea Iringo, Principal Secretary to the Ministry of Defense
• Mr. Nduva Muli, Principal Secretary State Department of Transport
• Mr. Patrick Omutia, Principal Secretary for Mining
• Mr. James Teko, Principal Secretary to the State Department of Water
• Ms. Marianne Kittany, Chief of Staff in the office of the Deputy President
• Ms. Esther Koimet, Investment Secretary to the National Treasury
• Ambassador Jane Waikenda, Deputy Head of Mission, Kenyan Embassy in South Africa


State House has also directed that State Corporations and their boards urgently convene Special Board Meetings to appoint acting Chief Executives and other officials as those mentioned in the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission list step down. Officers of State Corporations affected are;
• Chairman of the Agricultural Finance Corporation Mr. Patrick Osero
• Managing Director Geothermal Development Company Dr. Silas Simiyu
• Managing Director Nzoia Sugar Company Mr. Francis Oyatsi
• Managing Trustee National Social Security Fund (NSSF) Mr. Richard Langat
• National Water Conservation and Pipeline Corporation Acting Chief Executive Mr. Evans Ngibuini
• Chief Executive KenTrade Mr. Alex Kabuga
• Managing Director Kenya Airports Authority Ms. Lucy Mbugua
• Managing Director Kenya Pipeline Corporation Mr. Charles Tonui
• Chief Executive Tourism Fund/Catering Levy Trustee Mr. Allan Chenane

The statement from State House says, “As the President told Parliament, it is not his place to determine the guilt or otherwise of the State or Public officers named in the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Report but that the time has come to send a strong signal to the country”.

President Kenyatta has asked Kenyans not to engage in negative politics or engage in acts to detract the process as it is a moral war to save the soul of the country. Despite this, several leaders and state officials including governors mentioned in the list are yet to step down, insisting their innocence. Kenyans watch and wait for the next move.

Related posts